Paper Mario doesn't boot

Discuss ROM-compatibility related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:03 pm

Tested on a Retina Macbook Pro using both OS X and linux, AVX version

Booting up Paper Mario results in a blank white screen, along with 'Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000' twice in the logs. Any way to help with this?

User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:09 pm

Actually, I can't really get anything to boot... I'm unsure if it's me or a bug. :(

ShadowFX
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:08 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by ShadowFX » Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:52 pm

Paper Mario (U) indeed doesn't boot. Could be a bug or a result of the incomplete emulation of the hardware.
I do however get a black screen with garbled graphics on the top if you wait a few seconds on the 2015.01.29 build.

Does Star Fox 64 (U) boot on your end? Also, what build are you using or are you compiling your own?

Edit: I'm actually getting some mixed results between versions (AVX, SSE2 etc.), ranging from crashes to a total black screen without some garbled graphics.
Last edited by ShadowFX on Tue Feb 10, 2015 6:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"

OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
Specs: Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.2GHz, 16GB DDR4-RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Main build: AVX (official)

User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Tue Feb 10, 2015 6:42 pm

Star Fox 64 results in the same blank screen + same error message flooding the terminal.

I'm on OS X, so I compile from master myself.

ShadowFX
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:08 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by ShadowFX » Tue Feb 10, 2015 6:44 pm

Make sure the ROMs are Big Endian-format, and not byteswapped.
Basically, use genuine z64 formatted ROMs.
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"

OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
Specs: Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.2GHz, 16GB DDR4-RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Main build: AVX (official)

User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Tue Feb 10, 2015 6:52 pm

The first Star Fox ROM I used was byteswapped, so I unswapped it myself, and the second I tried had the same issue.

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:41 am

Everything from SSE2 to AVX builds and works for me on Linux. :(

I don't really have any other OS at my disposal, so it might be awhile before I can look at these.

What's the md5sum of your Starfox 64 image?

ShadowFX
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:08 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by ShadowFX » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:10 pm

Paper Mario (U) used to at least boot into menu, before the rewrite.
Now it simply shows a black screen, sometimes with some corrupted graphics.
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"

OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
Specs: Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.2GHz, 16GB DDR4-RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Main build: AVX (official)

User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:42 pm

I attempted with a few ROMs. Some turned out to be duplicates, so these are the two basic MD5s.

caf9a78db13ee00002ff63a3c0c5eabb
741a94eee093c4c8684e66b89f8685e8

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:39 pm

ShadowFX wrote:Paper Mario (U) used to at least boot into menu, before the rewrite.
Now it simply shows a black screen, sometimes with some corrupted graphics.
It worked after the write, too -- the same commit that made the Mario Tennis intro work consequently broke Paper Mario. Paper Mario is one of the harder games to emulate, and I think CEN64's poorly-implemented RCP PI (and/or complete lack of an RCP AI) is allowing this cart to work properly.
reanimus wrote:I attempted with a few ROMs. Some turned out to be duplicates, so these are the two basic MD5s.

caf9a78db13ee00002ff63a3c0c5eabb
741a94eee093c4c8684e66b89f8685e8
Hmm interesting... the first md5sum is what I have. I'm not sure why that cart wouldn't be booting. What's the md5sum of your PIF ROM? Have you gotten any ROMs to boot?

User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:30 am

I'm 99% sure the PIF is fine.

4921d5f2165dee6e2496f4388c4c81da

I haven't had any success with any cartridges, and mild success with a few of the N64 assembly demos at https://github.com/PeterLemon/N64/

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:41 am

Yep, looks OK.

Another thing: can you make a "Debug" build (instead of "Release") and run CEN64 through valgrind:

valgrind ./cen64 <pifrom> <rom>

Will run a LOT slower, but has the potential to point out some issues.

User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Sat Feb 14, 2015 6:28 pm

I don't think there's a Valgrind for OS X 10.10. :(

Alernatively, I've gotten bus errors (usually indicative of memory access issues) after running the emulator on certain ROMs for a minute or two.

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Sat Feb 14, 2015 9:24 pm

I had a feeling it was memory-corruption-related errors. I'll try to take a peek when I can, but I don't remember seeing any.

User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Wed Feb 25, 2015 5:03 pm

Running on my SSE2 Linux machine, same issues... Odd.

Running v1.1 of the Star Fox 64 rom yields this:

Code: Select all

animus@terminus ~/Development $ ./cen64/cen64 '/home/animus/Dropbox/ROM/N64/pifdata.bin' '/run/media/animus/Courier1/Star Fox 64 (U) (V1.1) [!].z64' 
create_gl_window: Creating window...
bus_read_word: Failed to access: 0x1FF00000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
Unimplemented instruction: INVALID [0x00000000] @ 0x00000000
and so on. Screen is completely blank.

the CPU is an AMD Phenom II X4, if that matters.

Question, though: how long does it usually take for something discernible to show up on the screen?

User avatar
Alegend45
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:24 am

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by Alegend45 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:53 pm

Not long, reanimus. CEN64 is pretty ludicrously fast for its design. My Core i3-3210 runs it at 30 VI/s at least. However, you DEFINITELY want to use Intel instead of AMD. AMD is just shitty for IPC these days.

User avatar
reanimus
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:40 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by reanimus » Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:38 pm

Well, what does VI stand for here?

And the AMD machine is my old one. I'm running Linux full-time on it; my main machines are a 5th gen i5 and a 3rd gen i7, but the i5 runs windows, and the i7 is a retina macbook pro. Running Linux on the Mac is a pain (I have a 128GB SD card set up, but... it's an SD card) and I don't wanna partition the desktop.

Either way, though, no results on any ROM I can try. :(

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:08 pm

reanimus wrote:Well, what does VI stand for here?
VI/s is "FPS" for N64. Some games (OoT, for example) run at ~23FPS (NTSC), but still have a 60 "FPS" refresh rate as that's what the TV uses. So CEN64 uses VI/s as it is a fixed value that you can use for comparison across any ROM.
reanimus wrote:Either way, though, no results on any ROM I can try. :(
Sorry... been busy. Just haven't had the time to look into anything lately.

User avatar
Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:37 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Fri Feb 27, 2015 7:10 pm

Alegend45 wrote:However, you DEFINITELY want to use Intel instead of AMD. AMD is just shitty for IPC these days.
Careful with such sweeping statements, people can take them as absolute truths for everything and can believe them even 5-10 years later when the situation may be vastly different.

Speaking of large sweeping statements, one must consider that even Atom and Bay Trail are still Intel, yet using them for the likes of Cen64 would not be pracical at all performance-wise.
CEN64 Forum's resident straight-male kuutsundere
(just "tsundere" makes people think of "Shana clones" *shivers*)

CPU+iGPU: Pentium G3258 @ 4.6GHz/1.281v
dGPU: Radeon HD5870 1GB
RAM: Vengeance 1600 4x4GB
OS: Windows 7

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Sat Feb 28, 2015 6:32 pm

Nintendo Maniac 64 wrote:
Alegend45 wrote:However, you DEFINITELY want to use Intel instead of AMD. AMD is just shitty for IPC these days.
Careful with such sweeping statements, people can take them as absolute truths for everything and can believe them even 5-10 years later when the situation may be vastly different.

Speaking of large sweeping statements, one must consider that even Atom and Bay Trail are still Intel, yet using them for the likes of Cen64 would not be pracical at all performance-wise.
Obviously you can't expect an Atom to hold up to a 5GHz bulldozer, but:

"AMD is just shitty for IPC these days" is about as true as it gets. AMD can offer you lots of cores on the cheap, but don't expect much out of them other than a rather sizeable power bill.

User avatar
Mizox
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:24 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by Mizox » Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:18 pm

it is a shame how shitty AMD cores have gotten... here's hoping Zen will be able to actually compete, seeing as CPU performance in general has been pretty stagnant since sandybridge

User avatar
Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:37 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:31 am

Mizox wrote:CPU performance in general has been pretty stagnant since sandybridge
Except for, ya know, Haswell + emulators. :P
CEN64 Forum's resident straight-male kuutsundere
(just "tsundere" makes people think of "Shana clones" *shivers*)

CPU+iGPU: Pentium G3258 @ 4.6GHz/1.281v
dGPU: Radeon HD5870 1GB
RAM: Vengeance 1600 4x4GB
OS: Windows 7

beannaich
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:43 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by beannaich » Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:44 am

Do we really need another topic that devolves into a discussion of CPUs?

Back on track: has there been any progress on finding the source of the invalid reads?

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Mon Mar 09, 2015 10:07 am

A little history:

Paper Mario 64 has never run successfully in CEN64 (it would only get to the intro screen, right before text/animations should start appearing). Based on debug output, I think the reason for hangup was because of poorly/non-existant audio support (similar to what Battle for Naboo does if there's no/poor audio support).

However, at that time, I had not added coherency/caching for mapped (TLB) addresses correctly. When I added that support in, the garbled output at boot appeared (but Mario Tennis intro started appearing, and lots of other good things happened as well).

tl;dr: Need audio, SRAM?, other things to be implemented before anything's conclusive. I should also probably look at the TLB code once more to make sure that's all correct, but I think it is.

beannaich
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:43 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by beannaich » Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:01 am

Doesn't surprise me that a Nintendo title is relying on audio registers. Nintendo is always very picky with audio in the games they make, and since games can poll the status of the audio playback, it makes sense that no implementation could cause problems.

I may clone CEN64 and have a look at the audio stuff again. It really shouldn't take that long to at least get the registers updating somewhat properly. And if I ever get to the point of understanding how DMAs work in your architecture, perhaps audio output could finally be added.

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Thu May 21, 2015 12:27 pm

Well, at least I'm narrowing down the new potential big bug in CEN64's core... ;)

Don't get too excited though, because it crashes not too long into the game.
Attachments
pmario.png
pmario.png (117.41 KiB) Viewed 14683 times

User avatar
OldGnashburg
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:00 pm
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada: A place with free universal healthcare, and lots and lots of oil.

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by OldGnashburg » Thu May 21, 2015 12:38 pm

What do you think it's doing/affecting? Is in the RSP or VR4300 or what?
Gnash, Gnash, Gnash...

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Thu May 21, 2015 2:41 pm

OldGnashburg wrote:What do you think it's doing/affecting? Is in the RSP or VR4300 or what?
VR4300. Specifically some of the cache stuff that no other N64 emulator bothers to care about. :)

User avatar
OldGnashburg
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:00 pm
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada: A place with free universal healthcare, and lots and lots of oil.

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by OldGnashburg » Thu May 21, 2015 3:11 pm

Ahh, okay... Is it affecting performance or is it preventing other games from booting (not just Paper Mario) or both?

EDIT:
BTW, how goes multi-threading and other things? I haven't heard anything exciting (development-wise) coming from you (other than this).
Gnash, Gnash, Gnash...

User avatar
Nacho
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:25 am

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by Nacho » Thu May 21, 2015 4:47 pm

Was audio an issue?
Testing CEN64 on: Intel Core i5 520M 2.4 GHz. SSE2 SSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 SSSE3, but no AVX. Ubuntu Linux

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Thu May 21, 2015 8:48 pm

OldGnashburg wrote:Ahh, okay... Is it affecting performance or is it preventing other games from booting (not just Paper Mario) or both?

EDIT:
BTW, how goes multi-threading and other things? I haven't heard anything exciting (development-wise) coming from you (other than this).
I don't know. I usually work on one ROM at a time.

Haven't worked on the multi-threading stuff, still considering different approaches.
Nacho wrote:Was audio an issue?
Nope, my hypothesis was wrong!

User avatar
Snowstorm64
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 8:22 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by Snowstorm64 » Sun May 24, 2015 12:40 pm

This is great! :D

Could this be useful?
Attachments
PaperMario.png
PaperMario.png (45.84 KiB) Viewed 14743 times
OS: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie (8.0)
CPU: Intel i7 4770K @ 3.5 GHz
Build: AVX (compiled from git)

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Paper Mario doesn't boot

Post by MarathonMan » Sun May 24, 2015 12:50 pm

I saw it; it's a TLB+cache issue I think; need to test some things on HW.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest