Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Discuss ROM-compatibility related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nacho
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:25 am

Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by Nacho » Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:39 am

When I first tested Wave Race on CEN rewrite, textures were working fine.

Now, the 3D models are rended transparent. No textures. Not sure what commit caused that.
Testing CEN64 on: Intel Core i5 520M 2.4 GHz. SSE2 SSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 SSSE3, but no AVX. Ubuntu Linux

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by MarathonMan » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:07 am

Thanks, exactly the feedback I need! I'll look into this when I get a chance.

User avatar
Snowstorm64
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 8:22 pm

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by Snowstorm64 » Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:05 am

Wave Race 64 and Goldeneye 007 look fine to me. No texture issues or anything other.
OS: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie (8.0)
CPU: Intel i7 4770K @ 3.5 GHz
Build: AVX (compiled from git)

User avatar
Nacho
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:25 am

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by Nacho » Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:23 am

try to compile it with the latest commits from ~15h ago. (Regarding that, they made me gain 1 or 2 VI/s in Ocarina Of Time)
Testing CEN64 on: Intel Core i5 520M 2.4 GHz. SSE2 SSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 SSSE3, but no AVX. Ubuntu Linux

User avatar
Snowstorm64
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 8:22 pm

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by Snowstorm64 » Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:49 am

Nacho wrote:try to compile it with the latest commits from ~15h ago. (Regarding that, they made me gain 1 or 2 VI/s in Ocarina Of Time)
Which I have already done, and yet I have had no issues.

Regarding that, games on latest version look much better, but they seem to have some control issues, like MK64.
OS: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie (8.0)
CPU: Intel i7 4770K @ 3.5 GHz
Build: AVX (compiled from git)

User avatar
Nacho
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:25 am

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by Nacho » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:33 pm

Freshly downloaded and compiled. Release build and SSE2. Same happens with Native builds.

Wave Race and Split's Nacho64 demo are also affected.

Doom64's intro is also somewhat affected (darker textures, and some of then are not showing at all).

Looking closer, it might be that some textures are darkened by some solid colour.
Attachments
goldeneye.png
goldeneye.png (42.1 KiB) Viewed 6193 times
Testing CEN64 on: Intel Core i5 520M 2.4 GHz. SSE2 SSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 SSSE3, but no AVX. Ubuntu Linux

User avatar
Snowstorm64
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 8:22 pm

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by Snowstorm64 » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:40 pm

Since you have nominated SSE2, I thought...maybe it was a SSE2 problem? So I tried the SSE2 bundle, and I'm having the same issues you have reported earlier. With AVX bundle there are no issues.
OS: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie (8.0)
CPU: Intel i7 4770K @ 3.5 GHz
Build: AVX (compiled from git)

User avatar
Nacho
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:25 am

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by Nacho » Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:04 pm

Well, from my testing:

SSE2 -> Affected
SSE3 -> Affected
SSE4.1 -> Not affected
SSSE3 -> Not affected
Testing CEN64 on: Intel Core i5 520M 2.4 GHz. SSE2 SSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 SSSE3, but no AVX. Ubuntu Linux

ShadowFX
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:08 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by ShadowFX » Wed Jan 28, 2015 2:39 pm

Nacho wrote:Well, from my testing:

SSE2 -> Affected
SSE3 -> Affected
SSE4.1 -> Not affected
SSSE3 -> Not affected
Confirmed. For me, only the SSE2 build (2015.01.27) is affected, using Windows 7 here.
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"

OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
Specs: Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.2GHz, 16GB DDR4-RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Main build: AVX (official)

AIO
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by AIO » Wed Jan 28, 2015 3:25 pm

Nacho wrote:Well, from my testing:

SSE2 -> Affected
SSE3 -> Affected
SSE4.1 -> Not affected
SSSE3 -> Not affected
Well, that narrows it down quite a bit :D . I'll take a look today to see if I can spot the mistake(s).

User avatar
MarathonMan
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by MarathonMan » Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:45 pm

Was a endian-related issue with the SSE2 functions. It's actually been in there ever since I added SSE2 support.

Ironically, I was actually able to optimize the SSE2 build more (while simultaneously fixing the bug), so that's a plus.

I'm actually impressed with the performance of SSE2 builds now. Still not quite SSSE3, but not half bad, either.

ShadowFX
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:08 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by ShadowFX » Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:34 am

Bug is fixed :) Both GoldenEye and Wave Race now show correct graphics on the SSE2 build.
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"

OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
Specs: Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.2GHz, 16GB DDR4-RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Main build: AVX (official)

User avatar
Snowstorm64
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 8:22 pm

Re: Textures no longer displaying on Wave Race and Goldeneye

Post by Snowstorm64 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:49 am

Now that it's fixed, what about this other issue?
Snowstorm64 wrote:
Regarding that, games on latest version look much better, but they seem to have some control issues, like MK64.
It's very easy to check, you have just to play in any course, and you'll see that the driver will go randomly in any direction sometimes, as if you were going to play an online match with a lousy connection.

EDIT: Maybe I have to specify that this issue seems to be Linux-only, with the recent changes.
OS: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie (8.0)
CPU: Intel i7 4770K @ 3.5 GHz
Build: AVX (compiled from git)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests